Surrey Gold for Nolan, while Fabusiwa runs into the history books

09 Jan 2023

Croydon Harrier Dom Nolan became the first Croydon athlete to win the Surrey County cross-country title since 1998, after a thrilling victory at Lloyd Park on Saturday. 

The 28 year-old valiantly recovered from a fall to hit the front on the final lap of the 7.2-mile course, finishing just two seconds clear of Cambridge and Coleridge’s Nathan Mapperley. Nolan would complete the course in 39 minutes and 41 seconds. 

The men’s team would finish fifth overall, eight places higher than twelve months ago at the same competition. The rest of the scoring squad consisted of Peter Chambers who would finish in an embattled ninth position, and was supported by Phil Symonds (32nd), Isaac Flanagan (40th), Luke Wakeling (55th) and James Moore (138th). 17 Croydon men who complete the course. 

Over 40 Croydon Harriers would participate in the Championships which involves the best athletes in the County. 

The highest finish in the young athlete’s races would come courtesy of Zoha Jetha who would finish 7th in the Under 17 women’s race. Leanne Moore, Millicent FIgueria and Antara Singh would ensure the U17/20 women’s squad would finish 7th. 

Madeleine Armstrong-Plieth would lead the women’s team home, finishing 44th overall and the squad placing 11th. Further top 20 finishes for Croydon during the event would come from the ever improving Ernesto Kelly (12th, Under 13 Boys) and Kyron-Bailee Burke (16th, Under 17 Men) and Douglas Aikman (17th, Under 20 Men). Other Croydon leaders across the age groups were Aida Palomares-Dominguez (44th, U13 Girls) and Holly Smith (50th, U15 Girls).

At the SLAN Indoor Open at the David Weir Leisure Centre, 29 Croydon sprinters took part in 2023’s flagship open indoor meeting. Croydon’s squad would enjoy seven age category wins in a field of 136 sprinters. 

Farrell Fabusiwa shot to fourth on the all-time 60m UK rankings for the Under 15 boy’s age group, clocking 7.07secs. Further 60m wins came from Kalvyn Mills (Under 13 Boys), Shivelle Marshall (Under 15 Girls), Casielle Murray (Under 13 Girls), Tochi Davids (Under 17 Women) and Ibukun Akintola (Under 17 Men).

Ethan Mauge would clock the fastest 60m time of the day, winning the Under 20 men’s age group in 6.85s. 

Croydon Sports Arena,
Albert Road, South Norwood,
SE25 4QL
0208 647 1341 - General Enquiries, Mike